Paraguay | World Cup Blog | ESPN Soccernet
soccernet blog
World Cup home Blogs Home World Cup Blogs Home
Posted by Pedro Adrian Medrano on 05/12/2010

Paraguay’s national coach, Gerardo Martino, announced the list of players to participate in the warm up matches in the French city of Evain-les-Bains at the May 4th press conference. The list included 30 players, of which 23 will remain to defend the colors of La Albirroja in South Africa. As with all national teams, there is always a bit of controversy with the selection of players, with the exception of Nelson Cuevas. Recall that Nelson was the savior of the Paraguayan team in Korea-Japan 2002, scoring 2 goals in the 3-1 win over Slovenia which allowed La Albirroja to advance to the 2nd round. (Gracias a Víctor Ysmael Gleano por su contribución para esta entrada)

Here is the list of 30 chosen:

Goalies: Justo Villar (Real Valladolid), Aldo Bobadilla
(Independiente Medellín), Diego Barreto (Cerro Porteno).

Defensas: Denis Caniza (León), Paulo Da Silva (Sunderland),
Claudio Morel (Boca Juniors), Julio César Cáceres
(Atlético Mineiro), Carlos Bonet, Julio Manzur (Olimpia),
Dario Veron (Pumas UNAM), Aureliano Torres (San Lorenzo,
Antolin Alcaraz (Brujas), Marcos Cáceres (Racing Club).

Midfielders: Edgar Barreto (Atalanta), Cristian Riveros
(Cruz Azul), Osvaldo Martinez (Monterrey), Jonathan
Santana (VfL Wolfsburgo), Victor Caceres (Libertad),
Enrique Vera (LDU Quito), Sergio Aquino (Libertad),
Eduardo Ledesma (Lanus), Néstor Ortigoza (Argentinos Juniors).

Forwards: Marcelo Estigarribia, Jorge Achucarro
(Newell’s Old Boys), Roque Santa Cruz (Manchester City),
Nelson Haedo Valdez, Lucas Barrios (Borussia Dortmund),
Oscar Cardozo (Benfica), Edgar Benitez (Pachuca),
Rodolfo Gamarra (Libertad).


Posted by Addriene on 05/24/2011

Hey, you’re the goto expert. Thkans for hanging out here.

Posted by Lalaine on 05/25/2011

Sdatns back from the keyboard in amazement! Thanks!

  Post your comment
Email Address:
characters left
© ESPN Soccernet 2009